Drink: Iced Mocha

Food & Drink

iced mocha2

iced mocha

I used to hate coffee but recently I’ve fallen in love with iced coffee, especially with caramel or chocolate sauce to sweeten it up. So this morning, I decided to try out making my very own iced mocha and it tastes delicious!!
Ingredients

  • instant coffee
  • boiled water
  • fresh milk
  • milk ice cubes
  • cocoa powder (or chocolate sauce)

I know I say to use milk ice cubes and today I used plain water ice cubes but I think it would taste better with milk as it started to get watery towards the end and didn’t taste as nice. If you prefer more coffee then you can make coffee ice cubes instead :)

Method

I started by making a regular cup of coffee using 1 heaped teaspoon of instant coffee and boiled water. I used cocoa powder as I don’t have any chocolate sauce so I added 2 heaped teaspoons of cocoa powder with the coffee and prepared about 150-200ml and set aside in a pan of cold water to cool down.

Then I got my lovely tumbler (this one is from Morrisons and was something like £4 last summer) which holds nearly 500mls. I prefer a lot of milk in my iced coffee so I use a 60:40 milk to coffee ratio, sometimes more milk. Basically, I like chocolate milk with a little caffeine lol.
I filled the tumbler with milk ice cubes and about one third with fresh milk.
Once the mocha mixture has cooled enough, I poured it over the milk and cubes to fill the tumbler and voilà! It’s ready :)

Optional additions

Squirty cream on top with some chocolate sauce could make it more Starbucks-y or if you prefer sugar in your coffee, add it in the first step so the sugar dissolves in the boiled water. If you don’t like chocolate, you could always use caramel sauce (I think I will try that next!).

This is perfect for a hot summer’s day. Hope you enjoy it :)

RebeccaJane :) xo

2 thoughts on “Drink: Iced Mocha

  1. I’m such a coffee addict but have never tried making my own Iced Mocha. I’m def going to now! Thanks for the recipe. This is perfect for a summers day when you still need some caffine but also need a cool refreshing drink!
    Great Post xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know what wonderful additions you use! I’ve been making frozen berry smoothies too lately, but the weather has suddenly turned a bit bleek so it’s not as good as on sunny days xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

