Flashback Friday – Last Day of Secondary School

Flashback Friday, Personal

As well as starting my new mini series Quote of the Week on Mondays, I have also decided to start another one called Flashback Friday where I will share some of my memories with you all and fun stories from my life! I hope you enjoy this little insight into my life as much as I’m going to enjoy writing it for you and reliving the moments :D  Here’s to the first instalment! *clinks glass*

MY LAST DAY OF SECONDARY SCHOOL

image

I chose this photo because roughly 3 years ago (give or take a few days) it was my very last day of secondary school! It’s so surreal thinking that it’s been 3 years and in that time I’ve nearly completed my pre-registration midwifery course. This day in particular was pretty hilarious. Our year decided for our ‘muck up day’ we would keep it simple and just have a good old-fashioned water fight during last period outside. How could that carefully thought-out and considerate-to-others plan possibly go wrong? Well it did. But only because the deputy head decided to act all badass and basically exclude anyone who participated in the ‘utterly outrageous and totally barbaric water fight’ that harmed no one and disrupted zero classes.

It got to the point where the deputy head teacher got her panties so twisted she called the school police officer. Who took his time since the police station is literally across the road from the gates of our school. It was hilarious because he’s the funniest police officer and basically, he showed up and was all like ‘what am I supposed to do here?’ And the deputy head was getting all frantic about it and demanding everyone who was in the water fight be excluded from the school grounds. So then, like 80% of the class was stood outside the school gates because they were ‘excluded’ haha.

PocahontasJane Flashback Friday last day of school excluded

PocahontasJane Flashback Friday last day of school police

I never participated in the actual water fight because I made an effort with my make up and hair that day (which I never do) but I did take lots of photos – so many that my Facebook album just for that day alone has over 350 photos!

The last day of secondary school was a big deal as it signified the end of an era and the start of a new one. It was the end to being a child who relied on her friends’ homework to copy the morning it was due, but rather the start of being a (semi) independent young woman off out on a wild adventure at university – the place where teenagers go crazy partying until the sun comes up and still managing to attend their 9am lecture. I am not that person, but nevertheless the possibility was there. University opened up so many opportunities for us all and even those of us who didn’t go on to further education, are still doing amazing things! Some of these people are getting married! Some of them are going on to become famous directors, nurses, doctors and make-up artists. It’s crazy how we all have different paths since secondary school yet we are all doing the amazing things we want. I never would have imagined that I would ever be so close to graduating with a degree in midwifery and I’m sure there are lots of people from my class who are in the same boat and are just as proud of how far they’ve come.

It’s true what they say – ‘every day nothing changes but when we look back, everything has changed’

Let me know in the comments below what your last day of school was like, how you celebrated or anything you remember from that day. I’d love to hear your stories!

RebeccaJane xo

 Bloglovin | Twitter | InstagramPinterest

Leave a Reply

