Dinner: Chicken Tikka Masala

Food & Drink

I love chicken tikka masala. If that were ever on a menu anywhere, I would order it! I started playing about in the kitchen trying to make it the best I’ve had. And naturally, as a student with no money, I cut a couple corners unless I’m at home where mum has an abundance of spices to my disposal! My friends love this recipe and I’m pretty sure they’re not just saying that ;) So without further ado, here’s my cheat chicken tikka masala recipe that’s guaranteed to make every curry lover happy!

This recipe serves 4 people and takes 30-40 minutes from preparation to serving so is perfect for people with little time to spare for cooking. You can also make this advance and freeze leftovers in individual containers for later, which I often do as I live on my own and make bulk recipes for freezing :)

 CHICKEN TIKKA MASALA

Chicken Tikka Masala recipe

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 2 tbsp Patak’s tikka paste
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tbsp garam masala powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • hot pepper sauce to taste (I use Encoda because it’s sweet and delicious)
  • 4 chicken breasts – diced into 1-inch chunks
  • 2 medium sized courgettes (zucchini) – sliced 1/2-cm thick and cut in half
  • 200g mushrooms (I used button but choose what you prefer) – chopped into half or quarters, stems removed
  • 1 large white onion – diced into small pieces
  • 2 tbsp soft cheese (Philadelphia cream cheese or Tesco Everyday Value – both work great)
  • Handful of Feta to garnish
  • Water
  • Basmati rice

Method

  1. Marinade the chicken with the seasonings (all ingredients listed above chicken) and refrigerate for 4-6 hours. Bring to room temperature before cooking (30minutes before)
  2. Heat a little oil in a frying pan and add the onions. Cook on a medium-low heat until soft and translucent.
  3. Add the chicken, courgette and mushrooms on a medium-high heat, stirring occasionally to cook all sides. Add a few tablespoons of water if needed to get the right consistency. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
    Chicken Tikka Masala recipe
  4. Boil your rice for 12-14 minutes and drain well. Run under cold water to stop the cooking process and leave drained rice.
  5. Once chicken is cooked, add the cream cheese and mix well to create a creamy sauce.
    Chicken Tikka Masala recipe
  6. Heat rice with some boiled water briefly before serving.
  7. Garnish with crumbled feta cheese.

Variations

I have made this with various extra ingredients – just playing about with what tastes good. I usually put diced chunks of red bell pepper in my curry along with courgette. I had mushrooms to use up so I decided to use them this time and they went well with the different textures of the chicken and courgette. Paneer cheese is also a great addition to this recipe. It holds its shape and embodies all the spices for that extra flavour!

My friends have always complimented my curry and at home, it could probably give my mum and granny’s made-from-scratch curries a run for their money!

I hope this sounds easy enough to make. I’m not very good at writing out my recipes, I kind of just make them. Hopefully when I get a new camera I’ll be able to make a video of this recipe which may make more sense for you guys :)

Happy Eating!

RebeccaJane :)

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

