Kiss Air Candles Wax Off: Blueberry Cheesecake Vs Citrus Crush

Lifestyle

I love competing products against each other. I feel like some sort of God making them fight to the death in the Colosseum. I know I know, bit dramatic but it feels good throwing the loser away because they have disappointed me haha. Candles are not excluded from this and I recently came across Kiss Air Candles (www.kiss-air.com) on Twitter (@KissAirCandles) and ended up purchasing a few of their single wax melts. I didn’t want to commit to buying a full tin when I haven’t smelled them for myself (I literally just walk in to the Yankee store to sniff candles) so I thought the wax melts would be perfect for testing them out before buying a large tin.

Kiss Air Candles is a company based in Cambridgeshire which hand pours soy wax candles in a variety of scents. They have custom made scents in both Cocktails and their new summer launch of their Ice Cream Parlour scents. Compared to other candle companies, Kiss Air candles are really affordable and this is coming from the biggest cheapskate ever when it comes to parting with my hard-earned cash haha. The large tins (which burn up to 30hours) cost only £8.50 which I would say is a fabulous value for money as 30 hours is a really long time for a candle to last for that price.

They have many stockists throughout the UK, however none which are near me so without the chance to take a proper good whiff of these bad boys, I felt it would benefit my purse more to buy the adorable wax melts for £1.25 each (BARGAIN!) and these can burn for up to 15hours! How great is that?

Now, if you don’t have a wax burner, no need to fret my loves! Kiss Air sell them too! And with a fantastic deal of 3 wax melts for £10 with a burner in your choice of colour. The burners are super cute too. I have my own burner.. Actually I have a lot of burners. My mum has a problem with buying things we don’t need and has passed this trait down to me.

Anyway, enough of me rambling on, let’s get to the real reason you clicked this post. THE WAX-OFF!!

First up.. Blueberry Cheesecake

Kiss Ait Candles Single Wax melt Blueberry Cheesecake

Can you see how thick that wax is? I was shocked at how big these melts actually are. I actually cut this in half and burned it because it was actually too big to sit in my burner (although the wax would have fit perfectly, the size of this bad boy was hanging on to the edge) and this half lasted for 4 days before the scent was gone/fading.

Blueberry Cheesecake smells similar to its name in the sense that it has a cheesecake-type undertone but the initial scent that hit my sniffer was actually toffee apple. Kind of like a demerara sugar smell. Really nice but I did not smell blueberry. I love the cute labels on these melts though and this one is my favourite because it’s a gorgeous dark blue (which is my fave colour just fyi) but the smell just did not resemble its name clear enough for me.

Next up.. Citrus Crush

Kiss Air Candles Single Wax Melt Citrus Crush

Now, Citrus Crush is on the other end of the spectrum for me. It has a delightfully disinfectant scent which I absolutely adore. I use an Icy Lemon bleach/disinfectant to clean my kitchen and bathroom so this melt just reminds me of cleanliness and is just a lovely scent. It has an initial burst of lemon followed by sweet oranges and it is just heavenly. Not a bleachy smell, I don’t mean to put you off with my disinfectant comment. This scent is just a lovely clean smell that makes me feel like my home has just been deep cleaned which makes me happy :D

Again, this melt was huge and due to the overpowering scent, my mum and I made the executive decision to quarter it so as not to blast our tiny flat with citrusy goodness. The quarter-piece lasted almost 3 days which was great.

We melted both in the same burner (cleaned between uses) and with the same tealights in the same part of the living room. Both scents were a lot stronger throughout the rest of the house than in the living room itself, especially Citrus Crush which just felt so summery in my bedroom and was a warm welcome to visitors coming through the hallway. Blueberry Cheesecake smelled a lot sweeter in the hallway than the living room also, but again, it smelled more like toffee apple than a cheesecake – not a complaint though, I loooved the scent!

Overall – I would actually repurchase both of these scents as I enjoyed both fragrances but based on the advertisement to my preferences, Citrus Crush won! It smells so clean and perfect for summer whereas Blueberry Crush, although delicious, to me it is better suited to Autumn time. I will repurchase for Halloween as I think that would be perfect then!

With so many delicious flavours to choose from, which is your favourite?

RebeccaJane xo

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

 

3 thoughts on “Kiss Air Candles Wax Off: Blueberry Cheesecake Vs Citrus Crush

    1. Nooo you definitely need to try them out! You don’t use regular candles but mini melts with no wick and then place it on top of an oil burner and let the scent fill your room – Heaven on Earth! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

