Urban Decay NAKED Eyeshadow – Laced

Beauty

Another item I won in Hayley’s giveaway (www.cityandcode.com) in June was the Urban Decay NAKED Eyeshadow in the shade Laced and since I’ve been at home and had time to play about with different looks, I’ve used this shadow a lot to get a good idea of how it looks. This is the first high-end product I’ve ever owned believe it or not. I don’t actually wear make-up all too often so I don’t see the point in spending a lot of money when it will expire before I can get my money’s worth but I’m glad I won this as it’s given me the chance to feel rich for a moment hehe!

Urban Decay NAKED Eyeshadow Laced

Urban Decay NAKED Eyeshadow Laced

Packaging – and we start on a slippery slope here because I am seriously disappointed with the packaging on this product. It is so flimsy and fragile, I could probably snap the lip off if I wasn’t careful when opening it. I would expect these kind of cheap packaging from Poundland.

Formula – so I hear a lot of people raving about how the NAKED eyeshadows are really smooth and blendable and just generally lovely. And I agree! This formula picks up easily on my brush and smooths evenly over my lid and can be blended out easily too. This shade Laced is a shimmery bronze colour which is gorgeous, however since I have a warm olive skin tone, it pretty much blends in to my skin so I think this would be better for someone with a paler skin tone or really dark skin. This colour looked lovely and Beyoncé-like on my mum’s cheeky mocha skin ;)

Cost – I went on the Urban Decay website to find out the price and boy was I shocked! I knew it would be expensive but since I’ve never really shopping in the high-end section of the beauty stores, I grossly underestimated the cost of a single eyeshadow of this quality. I presumed it would be about £6-7 thinking that was expensive but oh my, this single shadow comes in at a whopping £14!! That’s pretty overpriced for a single shadow in weak packaging with a similar formula to other, cheaper brands. Once I saw that the palettes were £38, I knew this was a ridiculous price – you can buy a palette to create various looks with a number of different shades and it costs a little over double the price of a single? Weird.

Overall – this is a gorgeous shade which is perfect for a golden bronze summer look which I think will look fabulous on darker skin. However, for the price, I would probably just buy a palette to get more for my money but that’s just me personally.

Are there any Urban Decay products you recommend I try next?

RebeccaJane xo

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

