5 Things I Learned When I Got A New Laptop

Lifestyle, Lists

What I Learned When I Got A New Laptop

Let me set the scene first of all.

Twas the week before Christmas and I’m sitting on the sofa getting some posts written when Bandit jumps up for cuddles and my laptop slides off my lap and the monitor knocks against the table and the screen goes all funny… Oh well, I’ll just turn it off and leave it. Oops.

A brief run down of my old laptop’s life.
Bought in 2008 (7 years old)
Worked fine for 4-5 years, then started to crash constantly.
The hard drive crashed and hasn’t saved anything since 2013.

So it’s safe to say, I was in desperate need of a new laptop. I just didn’t have the money so I made my old one last me and only used it if absolutely necessary. I was lucky enough to get a tablet from Steven for my birthday a couple of years ago which has helped me a lot with blogging and everything really.

Okay so now we’re all caught up yeah? Now let’s get to my ~senior~ moment when I got this new badboy and how out-of-touch with technology I am.

THINGS I LEARNED WHEN I GOT A NEW LAPTOP

1. WTF is Windows 10??

I am used to Windows Home Vista, yes, Home Vista. I’ve seen Windows 8 on my PAPA’s laptop and hated it. My new laptop has Windows 10 and I am still trying to figure out how to personalise it. Those colourful little squares are just mocking me every time I tap the Windows icon. WHYYY.

2. Built-in cameras.

Seriously, I am going to be skyping everyone now. No more plugging in a VGA webcam and waiting forever for it to setup before I can skype family and friends. If I had this when at uni, it might have the long distance relationship easier *wink wink*

3. HDMI ports.

Yes, my old laptop didn’t even have a HDMI port. Although I don’t know how significant that is anymore. Maybe HDMI is no longer important. I DON’T KNOW!!

4. A battery that works.

I have really been enjoying the freedom of a fully charged battery. I’ve been getting about 5-6 hours of battery life from this before I’m down to the last 15 minutes. No cables to trip over yay!

5. Instant start-up.

My old laptop took about 40 minutes to load and then if you clicked it the wrong way (don’t ask), then it would crash and restart all over again. I could go for a shower, make breakfast and watch TV before it was ready to use. And that’s not even an exaggeration. Now, I feel like my life has been taken away from me because I turn this laptop on and I barely have time to make a cuppa before it’s raring to go.

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long but I am overjoyed with my new laptop. it’s made blogging a hellova lot easier I’ll tell ya! 

What device/s do you primarily use for blogging?

RebeccaJane xo

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned When I Got A New Laptop

    1. Do you? I’ve only seen your iPad case. Online, the colours looked more vibrant so was a little disappointed but it keeps it safe (unless Steven uses it and somehow it stops working….)

      Like

Leave a Reply

