L’Oreal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil: Must or Bust?

Beauty

I’m feeling strange about writing this post because I bought this product months ago and my feelings towards it have completely changed which I didn’t expect. So I shall try my best to take you through my thoughts on the L’Oréal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil (RRP £9.99). When I originally bought this product, I also used the accompanying shampoo and conditioner which were on offer in Asda so I figured why not buy the whole range (it’s not like I was poor or anything #studentlife).

L'Oreal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil

Let me set the scene. I was on placement in the hospital so my hair was tied up all the time and I pretty much never had it down. I was washing my hair maybe twice a week depending on my shifts. When used with the shampoo and conditioner from the same range, this hair oil works great on wet hair. My hair was smoother and felt great. It didn’t feel greasy or thick and it just generally made my hair easier to tie up for placement without my annoying baby hairs sticking out and making me look scruffy.

Fast forward to uni time and it’s coming in to September when Aberdeen starts to get pretty cold (when is it not though?) and when it’s cold and I’m travelling a lot, I like to have my hair down because it keeps me cosy and stops my face and neck getting attacked by the wind and rain. I soon realised that the combination of shampoo, conditioner and leave-in was ruining my natural curls and my hair, although smooth, took more time to straighten/style it nicely because my curls were destroyed by all the oils smoothing them out. So I stopped using them to let me curls come back (made getting ready so much easier) but I still used the leave-in for the extra protection during winter and noticed a huuuge difference, and not in a good way. All of a sudden, my hair feels super thick. That kinda feeling when you haven’t fully washed out your shampoo or conditioner and your hair feels all thick and yuck? That feeling.

I’m glad I never wrote the review on the L’Oréal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil before now, so that I’m able to give you my full review. This leave-in hair oil works great with the accompanying shampoo and conditioner and leaves your hair smooth and manageable, however, all three combined do smooth your hair so well that if like me, you have lovely natural curls you want to keep, will completely flatten them. Although I guess the product is not designed for protecting curls so it’s just a little sidenote for you.

When used on it’s own however, this product is definitely not a go-to for me anymore. Even when I use it just on my ends for some extra nourishment, it makes my hair feel so much thicker and quite tough. My hair is naturally quite thick and wiry – kinda indian-afro combo so it’s very unpredictable and it takes a lot of patience to style it. It may just be that this product just doesn’t gel well with my hair without the shampoo and conditioner helping to smooth out my hair first.

I wouldn’t recommend this hair oil without the shampoo and conditioner as it might be a bit of a gamble on whether or not it works for you. I wouldn’t recommend this if you have natural curls you want to keep or if you have thick or coarse hair as it may feel thick and heavy like it did on mine.

If you have fine/normal hair, or naturally straight(ish) hair then this may work for you. It did a great job of keeping my hair nourished and protecting it from the cold, but overall I was not impressed with this product.

As a treatment product, I feel like it should do a good job with and without the shampoo and conditioner and for me, it just didn’t do that. I have to declare the L’Oréal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil a BUST.

Have you used this hair oil before and had no problems? Please leave a comment with your mini review to balance out my negativity ahh. Do you have any haircare must-haves? Let me know!

RebeccaJane xo

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

3 thoughts on “L’Oreal Elvive Extraordinary Hair Oil: Must or Bust?

    1. Yeah I suppose it is a bit thick but it is a great combination of oils. I have to say my favourite hair oil is the Schwarzkopf Got2b Oil-icious styling oil. Light, non-greasy and worked!

      Thanks for commenting Mel. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  1. Thanks for such a detailed review. I love those types!
    It’s annoying when you think you’ve found a great product and then realise it’s not. I’m glad you told us though. It’s so easy to write a post raving about a great product and sometimes people (okay,me) forget to write about the bad ones X

    Like

Leave a Reply

