The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Books

I don’t even need to give any background on why I’m reviewing this book. It has been all over the internet for quite some time now. People are calling it the new ‘Gone Girl’ so I was obviously really interested in this book.

I prefer paperbacks over hardcovers so I have been waiting months for this book to be released and on May 5th, it finally was and I could not wait to get started.

the girl on the train, girl on the train, paula hawkins, suspense, thriller, crime, mystery, book, novel, women's fiction,

I never actually knew what this book was about before purchasing. After hearing people comparing it to Gone Girl, I assumed it was another book with a psycho female protagonist – and after reading the blurb on the back which basically says that Rachel passes the same set of houses on her daily commute and creates little personalities and stories behind one of the couples in the houses. One day she sees something and suddenly there’s a missing person and Rachel is at the centre of it all.

I was expecting Rachel to be a total psychopath after creating her perfect couple and then realising they’re not as perfect after all, she forces her way in and ties them up until they become her idea of perfect. That’s basically where I thought this story was going, but it didn’t take that turn down psycho lane.

The Girl on the Train is about Rachel, an alcoholic whose life is pretty shit at the moment – her ex-husband has moved on and is married to a woman named Anna who lives in their old house that her train passes by every day on her way to and from work. In a house nearby, Rachel becomes slightly obsessed with a couple she sees as ‘perfect’. One day she sees something and the story goes from there. Rachel needs to find a way to prove her innocence, or at least remember if she even is innocent (drunken blackouts play a key role in this book).

It’s got an interesting writing style – written from the perspective of the three females and in a diary-style entries adds an interesting twist as we’re only getting little snippets from their day and then we have to try and piece it all together as we read on. The three narrators add extra depth because we get to see both sides to the story, especially when it comes to Rachel and her ex-husband’s new wife, Anna’s relationship.

The Girl on the Train is also the only book I’ve read where I did not like any of the characters at all. I just could not relate to them in any way and throughout the book, I began to hate more than others and then hate them a little less and the circle just went on and on. It didn’t put me off the book though – never even crossed my mind really. The story is interesting and at times, can be a little boring, but in the sense that you just want to tell the characters to stop being whiny little so and so’s.

I do read a lot of crime/mystery as it’s my favourite genre, so the ending was easy to predict for me but the story was still enjoyable. I would give this book a 4/5 stars because it was a really good read. I can’t imagine myself re-reading it though because there weren’t any twists that caught me by surprise but I am looking forward to seeing the movie later this year – although I’m not quite sure how good it will be in comparison.

Have you read The Girl on the Train? Let me know in the comments!

RebeccaJane xo

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

One thought on “The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

